I sometimes joke to my friends that the only things I read outside of articles for my classes are self-help books and cookbooks. Since I have relatively little free time to read, I’ve become set on getting the most out of it. While I’m still guilty of burning away an occasional afternoon in the neither realms of facebook, I’ve discovered that unless something is immediately useful, challenging, inspiring, or highly entertaining, I don’t want to bother with it. It’s not that I only want to read the fun stuff that I agree with and ignore the rest. On the contrary; I find it immensely useful to read things that prompt me to seriously consider my beliefs and assumptions, and entertain alternate viewpoints. As a result, one of the handful of blogs I read on a regular basis is Warrior Spirit, written by my friend Khaled.

Khaled writes on a variety of topics, from fitness to nutrition to philosophy, as well as reviewing books and other blogs (thereby helping me separate the wheat from the chaff and find things that I really benefit from reading!). All of his writings are both connected and motivated by the deep desire to seek one’s highest path and reach one’s full potential. This kind of drive and direction, I think, transforms the blog from a collection of tips and tricks for better health to something more profound: I would call it something more like, ‘field notes from an awakened human experience.’  I appreciate reading Khaled’s writings because I know he’s had to seriously entertain questions such as: at what point is what you want for your life so important, that you can no longer accept the status quo, what is average, normal, or “good enough”? And at what point can you let go of other people’s criteria for perfection and definitions of success?

I consider this to be striking out into pretty wild territory. But I always end up feeling encouraged to do the same.

There are a number of themes in Khaled’s writing that resonate very strongly with me, even if we diverge a bit on the details.  For instance:

-A holistic approach to health and fitness, focusing on the total well being of the body and mind, as well as the environment and communities we live in. This often goes against conventional, mainstream perceptions of what is actually healthy. But, all of his assertions are based on personal experience and research.

-The desire to create one’s own reality and destiny, letting go of ingrained cultural scripts and moving beyond our social conditioning.

-Holding one’s self accountable and pursuing ethics and integrity rather than ‘perfection.’

I find Khaled’s blog to be a source of encouragement, information, and accountability, and I personally cannot wait to see where it will all go.  I’m thrilled to have such a positive and eloquent voice in my life and to get to share it with you here.

